Tree Bumblebee

Bombus hypnorum

This very large bumble bee fell on the floor of the bedroom as I was making up the beds ready for my family who arrive on Friday morning.

The photos are not up to Mollyblobs standard but they were good enough for me to see the detail and to go onto to identify it. I'm quite excited about it as it appears to be a relatively new arrival to the UK - 2001 on the south coast. Gradually it's moving northwards. It seemed a bit stunned after it's rescue and took a few minutes to sit in the middle of the Daphne plant before it recovered and flew away.

I've been doing some more research and because of her size I think she must have been a queen - it's hard to tell on the photos.

Photo club last night - Architecture and Record competition.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.