Incredibish

By Incredibish

Balance

Tomorrow morning, at around twenty past eight (a few minutes later than the published time here in the west country), we will pass through the autumn equinox. Modern pagans all over the Internet have been celebrating Mabon for days now but, like the solstices, equinoxes are definite points in time.

In the wheel of the year we hit a point of balance when the northern and southern hemispheres receive the same amount of light. That doesn't even mean the light and dark are equally split, since the Sun lights the skies slightly before it tops the horizon and continues after it sets. See equilux. However, for all intents and purposes we tip over into the dark half of the year.

Continuing the theme of balance, I didn't manage to get a blip earlier today and in desperation I hung precariously from the bedroom window to take this shot hand-held. As such, I'm quite pleased with it. I'm more pleased I didn't drop the camera or plummet to the garden below. That's my balanced view...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.