But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Tiny Tuesday.

Today there's a Tiny Tuesday challenge, there doesn't appear to be a theme and I have no idea who's hosting it. I'm finding the challenges quite good as they provide incentive to post a picture on the day it was taken - there's no point otherwise; they also get me to look for something specific which seems to be a much more successful strategy than just looking. The blip is of a leaf of the common stinging nettle.

At the crack of noon, I took herself to catch a train to visit her sister and go to a niece's birthday party; it seems that I am excused; the party will be a disco and they don't want a grumpy old fart who can't handle loud noises going around upsetting the other guests. In my defence, it isn't just me; I have found quite a few people (I once read a letter to "New Scientist," from someone I didn't know, asking about the phenomenon) who have an overwhelming desire to hit someone after enduring less than half an hour of loud music.

After doing some shopping, I went to feed the bees - one of the colonies is turning a bit nasty; not only was it very aggressive, bees followed me when I walked away - for a quarter of an hour. I left it to calm down before returning the finish the job. It is my intention to start breeding bees rather than just produce honey so, early next summer, I shall be replacing the queen. It is quite remarkable, you would expect it to take a month or so for the nature of the bees to change character after being requeened - sufficient time for the progeny of the old matriarch to die out and be replaced by that of the new one. It isn't so, the change takes only minutes rather than months or even hours. The queen is a very influential lady.

Edit: The host is Freyjad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.