Tractor Tuesday - Snow Ferguson

Having failed to find any, in Lenham Kent near Nogbad manufactured, Marley drainpipes yesterday, set off early to Mindelheim. I thought I had heard about jams on the motorway so went the back road. Halfway there and found the back road closed so had to detour meaning we couldn't do the planned dog walk. Ended up in Mindelheim itself, at an area with several sports facilities and also a skilift slope. The lift is a simple 200 meter drag lift built some 35 years ago by a local sport shop which then held lessons for beginners. A few years ago they gave it to the town council who I think still open it when there is snow and I think free of charge.

I knew I wouldn't find a candidate for Tractor Tuesday here but thought perhaps the Kindergarten ladies taking their children out for a stroll might at a push get by - see Extra Photo. They were some of the many people we met on the walk around the award winning natural garden and in the woods beneath the Mindelburg castle.

Then off to the DIY store and got my Marley bits & pieces. With the weather forecast predicting rain in the afternoon wanted to get home quickly - just as I got to the motorway saw an ambulance on the bridge seemingly waiting to see if they would be needed. I did a U-turn and ended up taking absolutely ages to get home due to various detours.

However it did mean going through places I had never been. In one village saw a yard full of weird machines and pulled off to have a look - a yard full of used snow grooming equipment and tucked away the photographed Ferguson. The website wont let me link direct to the page but with a bit of searching interested people will see it listed as 1961 - the model number is not shown and I suspect the described Mercedes Benz petrol engine my not be correct. They want 4000 Euros + VAT. the same as for the two snow groomers in the Extra Photos.

Nobody about all the gates closed so had to do some acrobatics to get the shots. As I was about to leave a large Mercedes came speeding down the road, window came down and it was the owner asking if I needed any help. After I explained what I was up to, he relaxed!

Back home did the rest of the drain work adding the new 6 meters to the old 9 meters. Getting the right gradient over 15 meters with flimsy plastic pipes and alone is not fun. Got something half way reasonable done and glued together before the rain came. It isn't good, pools of water in certain places so will need some correction work. However the new water tank is now being filled.

Evening walk in the rain with the dogs just before it got dark. Met two very friendly anglers who were loading their equipment and dog. Flash & Luna were given a dog treat each despite the anglers saying all they had caught was rain and wind.

This evening on TV the first snowflakes appered on the weather forecast. Snow due to fall down to 1600 meters tomorrow. I need to think about checking out my snow blower is ready for the new season.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.