But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Hundy Mundy.

First, I was in trouble yesterday for saying that Herself was at another patchwork thing, apparently it was a non-patchwork related needlework event. She was there again today, so I found myself cycling around The Borders once more. We had seen the signs for Hundy Mundy and wondered what it was, so I went there during my meanderings to investigate.

It is a Gothic Folly built within sight of the Mellerstain estate by William Adam in 1726 using stone from an old tower house. The folly is named after a resident of the tower (a Pictish Princess, Hunimundias) whose name has been mispronounced, probably by many generations of children. The small area of mature woodland is now used as a woodland cemetery. The view is from the road going past the site.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.