Hoverfly

I always think that these tiny little hoverflies look like cartoon characters when viewed close-up.  

I have added an extra of a hummingbird resting high in a Blue Spruce tree. I hadn’t seen any of them since I returned from vacation on Friday and I thought they might be gone for the season. Yesterday evening, however, I was completely entertained by two bickering hummingbirds.  They darted around the yard for quite a few minutes as I watched them from the kitchen window.  When it went on for a while, I went to get my camera, put on the big lens and they were still at it.  I slipped quietly outside, but my presence caused them to scatter quickly.  I guess I still have the ability to put a stop to bickering children.  Anyway, this one sat way up in a tree for a while and then he moved into the sunlight on the blue spruce and sat long enough for me to get a few good shots. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.