Flower Friday - It's Dahlia Season!

I discovered fabulous gardens today.  I went to the Montgomery County Agricultural Farm Park, a place that WRPerry and I have visited together, but we went in the winter for birds so were quite oblivious to these gardens.  The National Capital Dahlia Society has a Dahlia garden there and it was spectacular. There is no special design to the garden, in fact the plants have been placed in rows with lots of space to maneuver between them.  Perfect for photography.  There was no one there and I was able to set up my tripod and Plamp (sorry, you have to Google it) to hold my diffuser to block the sun.  It all worked very well.  Adjacent to this garden was a fabulous butterfly garden which included a pond, so I spent some time there too.  There were frogs sunbathing around the pond, and I was able to get down in their faces with my macro lens. That was a first!


There were so many varieties of Dahlias with amazing colors and shapes, I had a hard time choosing which one to blip.  I am almost out of extras so you can see a few of the others on Flickr.

Thanks Anni for hosting - you have your work cut out for you when you get home. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.