Darter and Short-toed Treecreeper

As the day started off dull and windy I thought it would be an indoor blip for me or maybe a Lego one. When the rain cleared I did set up some Lego shots but haven't used them as from lunchtime onward the weather was beautiful again.

I popped down the track in search of dragonflies or butterflies. I hadn't gone very far at all when I could hear a very high pitched bird call. I assumed it was the longtail tits and didn't even bother trying to get any shots. I caught a glimpse of something darting about high up an oak and hoped it might be a tree creeper. It was and I've added a shot in extras as it's not brilliant quality. I wondered if there might be some down there after we saw them a few weeks in another part of the island. I realise now that the high pitched call belonged to it, very exciting!

Further down at my favourite spot  I spotted butterflies and more little birds. It was just lovely and if I had a chair I could've sat there for hours. That's where I saw the darter on my way back home for lunch. Maybe I should get myself a small folding chair/stool?

I also saw a couple of squirrels leaping around with one in particular shouting at me, both too fast to photograph unfortunately. Pretty sure I had a woodpecker which I'm really pleased about as I was worried I had scared them off earlier in the year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.