Projection

Tonight we had a projected image competition at the Photographic Society.  Unfortunately, our competition secretary was unable to come so, at relatively short notice, I was asked to run the event.  Fortunately he had already prepared the images and loaded them into the software.

I didn't really look at the images before tonight.  It is a long time since I last used the club's computer and the competition software, and I had never used the new projector before.  As a result, I didn't notice that for the whole of the "General" class competition, the display resolution was incorrect and only half of each of the images was showing on the screen.  The really odd part is that I didn't get shouts of complaint from all the General class entrants.  It wasn't until we moved on the the Advanced class run-through that the problem was highlighted.

We therefore took a break at that point while I sorted it out and corrected the resolution of the display.  Fortunately the judge was flexible; we ran through the General class images again so that the he could see the photographs as they were intended, and he adjusted his marking accordingly.  The Advanced class competition then proceeded without a hitch.

I may not be asked to take over the projection again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.