an image of teamdel

By teamdel

Holiday Weather

I am not sure if it was the extra blanket on the window, or just whether all the recent short nights caught up with her, but Girl managed to stay asleep until 7.45 this morning, meaning I did too. The extra sleeping hours really make a difference.

The good weather seems to have left us but then that doesnt really matter as we will be home soon. The wet got to us a little, particularly as we left the anaoraks in the car and I had to go and get them in the teeming rain. We then struggled to find somewhere for lunch and the wetter and hungrier we got the more fed up with each other we got also.

Boy, not one for many words decided a dirty nappy protest was in order, which he decided to follow up with an attempt to go to sleep. We could not find anywhere to change him and so in an attempt ensure he was to sleep with less self induced warmth I changed his nappy on the floor of an indoor market. My already foul mood was only enhanced when I put on the new nappy and could not work out why it had bits of poo on it already. It was then I saw my finger, now a full on poo finger.

After a quick wipe I walked into a nearby hotel and asked "Can I use your toilet to wash my hands as I have had to deal with one of my children who is dirty." Confused I was pointed the way. Still at least we had found somewhere for lunch, as the hotel also had a restaurant. The lunch was nice too, we were moved to the posh bit as our original table was not big enough. Whilst eating an old couple appeared at the entrance to the posh bit and the woman announced "Oh there are children there, I am not eating there"

After Wife and the little ones polished off a lemon tart and ice cream we left. As we went through the other part of the restaurant I tried to make a comment about not wanting to eat around stuck up people but it went unnoticed. Unperturbed once outside I made sure Boy gave the child hater one of his special waves. We then went to a gallery and bought a Steve Gascoigne picture, before taking Girl to an old sweet shop to get her an earned treat.

We had planned to go to the digger in the park again but the rain stopped play. So we headed back to our castle watching all the festival goers queueing in the rain. Once back we decided we were not prepared to let the rain ruin our day and as we had promised some rock pooling with the little ones we put on the waterproofs and headed to the beach. We got some funny looks on the way as we carried our buckets and nets but had lots of fun. Interesting there were quite a few other families with young children doing the same.

We didn't catch anything but I did find a wet five pound note stuck on a big seaweedy rock, which was nice. On the way home we had our picture taken by some tourists who hopefully got some nice ones of us all together and will hopefully send some to us as we rarely get good ones of all of us together, particularly with camera shy Boy. On the way home Boy also decided he would answer no to every question, that was until I asked him if he liked ice cream, at which point he got excited.

Another fun day even with the weather against us and at least we got to use our holiday wellies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.