Mail to Messy

By Horomaka

Afternoon Snack Time for Kereru, Dennistoun Bush

This afternoon I took a break from the keyboard and headed across the road to take some photos of the kowhai on the fringes of the bush.

This large kowhai at the entrance of Dennistoun Bush was humming with bumblebees, their fuzzy bodies being squeezed into the delicately small bell shaped flowers. As I was framing up some shots of the bees, this hefty kereru came crashing into the canopy to feast on some of the tasty yellow petals, so I swung the lens upwards to catch the bird having a break mid-snack.

Once again I forgot to set the non-CPU lens focal length on my camera, so the EXIF is wrong. For this I used my adapted 400mm f/5.6 Tokina lens and the X-T1's electronic silent shutter so as not to disturb the snacking wood pigeon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.