Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

May I Join You?

What do you think the odds were that the incoming Anna's hummingbird landed peacefully next to this non-violent (or so she whispers to me) Black-chinned highly unusual Lucifer hummingbird.  That they shared a quiet drink together at the local Hummingbird Pub?
Would you be surprised if I told you they did?!

Well, they didn't!  The Anna's chased the otherwise peacefully sipping bird Lucifer away from the Pub and a sky fight ensued.  Neither returned straight away.  It took about fifteen minutes before one returned to the site of the brawl, at least from my view in the living room.  And for all I know that could have been an entirely different bird!

PS  Notice the decurved bill on the Lucifer.  it is the only hummingbird in North America with such a bill!

The Extra Photo:  Fighting stance!

Hand update:
I can open it a wee bit more but it looks like a claw  :-)  The lump on the back of it remains. Best news is that it is a lot less painful during the day and... I can drive now!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.