EUONYMUS

Is it a flower, is it a berry, or a fruit? I know it is poisonous for sure. And it is beautiful too. I have two euonymus trees, one rather big, the other tiny.
A calm and more or less sunny day, not much wind, the bug clouds above our heads stay steady in their place.
We are talking a bit, reading a bit, and we are anticipating our travelday Monday to The Hague. A reunion with Mischa and of course the sea,
a different landscape.
In the afternoon we walk along the Weser, to keep our legs busy.
We ponder a lot about the Volkswagen affair.
When I was seven years old, my father had suddenly bought a Volkswagen, the beetle. Before this purchase he had a motorcycle, type Horex, made in Bad Homburg, Germany.
A funny thing, some days ago I have seen a docu about this motorcycle and its history on TV.
I have only one photo taken of me when I was a baby, six months old, just after the war.
The next photo in my life shows our whole family on that motorcycle. Proudly (?) posing.

My haiku:

The red and orange
Colours together amaze
Me, a bit shocking

And the proverb:

Nothing for nothing, and very little for a halfpenny.

1858   G. J. White-Melville,  Interpreter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.