Multi Tasking

Miss E often has to have her iPad surgically removed from her hands. Especially when she's been engrossed in a game on the way home from school.
Today when we got home, they decided to do a spot of blackberry picking and I couldn't help but admire/be annoyed by her ability to walk without looking up or paying any attention, seemingly using only her thumbs for guidance!!
We were late for school this morning. Proper late. Fifteen minutes.  You have to walk into assembly on your own in front of the whole school late!!
It was all going OK until about ten minutes before we were due to leave and then it became apparent that Miss E's skirt was nowhere to be found. At first I kept telling her to remember where she took it off/tossed it aside. Then, when that didn't work I helped her look. Then there was shouting and more looking and threats that she's have to go to school in her knickers and maybe that would help her take things off more carefully and actually take note of where her belongings are.
Then there was complete bewilderment as the bloody thing was nowhere to be found.
I came to the conclusion that it must have been a sleepwalking incident and started looking in the bins, the oven, the airing cupboard, inside the piano......
No luck.
I found my sunglasses which I'd lost. Woohoo!!
About ten minutes after we should have left I put her into a skirt I'd got from the second hand shop the other day. Far too big for her, with a button hanging off it and a torn, frayed buttonhole. And could I find a safety pin?!!!!
We got to school at 9.10am and I bundled her to the door of the hall and tried to get her go into Assembly. She refused point blank saying she couldn't go in on her own with the whole school looking at her. 
Eventually after much hissing and gritted teeth a teacher noticed us and came out to get her.
I took Miss L to her room. No-one there. Dropped her off next door and took all their bags to where they were supposed to be. 
Then I went home for a lie down in a darkened room.
Actually I went to work in the shop again for my dad. I spent a few hours packing cards into cellophane wrappers and swapping them for the ones I had on the racks. Very pleased with the latest batch!!
From there I went to the gym - where I ran on the treadmill for the first time ever.
Ran. On the treadmill!!
Only for two minutes (after walking fast uphill for fifteen minutes) but it's a start.
I went to Milton Keynes to collect a couple of coats I bought on eBay and to drop off a dress I need taking up. 
Then it was back to school to watch Miss E at lacrosse and Miss L at Multi Skills (catching and throwing and running about!!) 
Half an hour's madness on the climbing frame, a couple of hours madness at home and then a bit more sleepover madness.
Then Strictly!! Woohoo!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.