Car Park

Again, this is the only photo I took today. I seem to be getting out of the habit.
Lately I can't be bothered to do the writing either so I'm always days behind. Sigh.
I need to get my enthusiasm back!!!
Last Thursday was my gluten free baking course, next Thursday I begin a year long French course, so what self improvement plans did I have for today? 
Meditation? German philosophy? Thai cooking?
No. At the request of Thames Valley Police I had to go to a nondescript conference centre in Newport Pagnell and attend a Speed Awareness Course.
I last did one in March 2012 (Look how cute two year old Miss L looks!!!) and it really did improve my driving habits. For a while.
But then I slipped back into fairly habitual minor speeding. Because you get away with it for so long you start to think it doesn't matter.
It was good to have a reminder at the impact it can have - on me, my children, other drivers, pedestrians, my mental health if I hit someone or maimed them for life.
There were some pretty sobering photos and videos - no gore but still horrifying. A young driver was doing about 38mph into a village (I got pulled over doing 37mph), hit a fourteen year old boy crossing the road. He survived but will never advance from a mental age of six. And, of course, you have to imagine the driver's life was ruined too. A life sentence for everybody. Just awful.
There were interesting Top Gear type videos about different stopping distances at different speeds. They showed the car stopping just before the dummy at 30mph, and then hitting it at 32mph, and completely demolishing it at "just" 35mph. Which is what many of us think is an OK speed.
Even more terrifying was the motorway stopping distances - the difference between 70mph and 80mph means you hit the obstacle still doing 47mph rather than stopping.
Anyway, enough lecturing!!!
There was one complete idiot there who clearly thought the whole thing was a complete waste of time money making exercise and was so difficult and stroppy. Asking stupid questions, making endless snide comments, being offensive and generally very annoying! You could just tell he was going to speed off after the course as fast as he could just on principle. Moron!
Mr K went to pick up the Little Misses from After School Club and I went to the gym.
Roast chicken and couscous for dinner and an early night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.