But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Going, Going, Gone!

I had planned this blip about six months ago and arrived at my post a good three quarters of an hour before the event. The place was packed, cars parked illegally on both sides of the road, up adjacent minor roads and in fields; the traffic wardens could have had a field day had they been inclined to work overtime. Had I been any later I would have completely missed my pitch. There was one guy up in a microlite, There's video on YouTube that could be his/hers, and there was someone else just in front of me with a quadcopter and GoPro, bearing in mind the lens I was using, I don't think a GoPro would be much use with its wide angle lens. There was also a flotilla of small boats looking perilously close just visible in these pics.

The whole affair had been well choreographed, the chimneys hitting one another was no accident; there's video showing the impact at right angles to my viewpoint and it's full body contact.

The first extra is of Spiderman going round giving the kids a treat, I think he laddered his tights scrambling through the brambles to get into the field.
Then there's a succession of shots with the last one being the Turbine Hall going up.

I must now make a resolution not to delete pictures in camera I had taken a picture of the before, and had zoomed for one of the boats, both of which I've lost. It's not a big deal, but still very silly. I had about a hundred pictures to sort through, most of which I did in the car while waiting for the traffic to die down.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.