But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Taylor.

It was studio night at the camera club with a professional photographer bringing along one of his new models. We didn't exactly see eye-to-eye, with him saying we didn't need to turn the main lights off as they wouldn't affect the picture when we were using flash where-as I claimed that with the lights on we couldn't see the effects of the modelling light. He also tried to insist that we shoot in monochrome - something beyond the scope of my camera.

He was also keen on keeping the lighting simple, that meant using just one flash; while the technique has some merit, the lighting was too harsh for this young lady's skin and I spent a long time with the "J" tool trying to produce a more flattering result.

I ended up moderately pleased with the end result, even though the focusing isn't quite "au point," a mistake I'm sure the pro wouldn't make; I'm equally sure that he would have produced a far better picture with much less effort.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.