But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

I put the comb with the honey that wouldn’t spin out through the press today and increased the year’s honey yield by a third.  The residue in the press is a fairly large and solid block of wet wax; wet in that it probably contained another pound of honey. In days gone by I would have crumbled it and let the bees clean it up, they would have left dry flakes of clean wax; but since it was from more than one colony, there would be a risk of spreading disease. I have just read that, although the reported cases of the two foul brood diseases are all in commercial apiaries, there are probably a lot of amateur apiaries affected but, through ignorance, are not being reported. I makes sense although it has been assumed that the problem exists solely within the professional domain. It would be something of a disaster if I was the first Scottish beekeeper to be found to be harbouring one of these ailments, though there would be a certain amount of kudos if I discovered and reported it myself.
 
Having delivered Herself to the Inglistone quilt show first thing this morning, when I had cleaned up all the sticky from the house I had to return to fetch her. I had a chance for a quick browse and a couple of pieces caught my eye – one of which was reasonably well lit. Thus I have posted three extras, two of “Sugar Free Latte”, designed by Carol Clasper of Livingstone and designed by Kerrie Hay for her book “Latte Quilt” and one of “Phoenix.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.