But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

I Hate. . . . . .

. . . . .  Modern culture!
In particular, the reality t.v. shows and, especially the “Devil take the hindmost” theme that many of them adopt. The Bake Off earns extra dislike for not actually showing the viewer how to bake. Then come the quiz shows – most of which are inane in the extreme with a small but significant proportion of the “official” answers being incorrect.
 
In fact, I don’t particularly like television. In a previous life, for several years, I spent the week-days living in a flat just outside Glasgow, only returning home to My Beloved at the week-ends. Not having a television there, I saw no need to buy a licence – then the letters started to arrive. Did I realise that I needed a licence? Did I know how serious a crime it is not to have one? Was I aware that they could force and entry to ensure that I didn’t have an unlicensed television? In fact it became very offensive and intimidating. Polite letters and phone calls did not stop the stream of mail, neither did impolite ones or threatiening them with legal action for harassment.
 
It seems that not watching the goggle box all evening – every evening is socially unacceptable, as is walking or cycling instead of driving.
 
My thanks, I think, to Ingeborg for chosing the theme for this week’s Mono Monday Challenge.

Incidentally, the "Devil take the hindmost" is the original name for the very exciting and tactical cycling track race that the Olympic Committee insist on calling the "elimination race."
 
And finally, I've just posted last Thursday's, "Heather Honey Press."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.