The Vampire Rabbit of Newcastle

Woke up this morning with a lot of pain in my right hip.  Its something I have learned to live with - a degenerative problem. I have good days and bad days.  I guess all the walking I did yesterday around York has caused the extra pain today. So I had a lazy morning which seemed to help the situation.

At around 4pm I set off for Newcastle.  Off to the match - Newcastle United v Chelsea.  5.30pm kick off. I did a bit of shopping before I made my way to the ground.

What a difference to last Saturday.  Newcastle actually played well and at one stage they were 2 - 0 up.  The final result was a draw -  2 - 2  - but the general feeling of the crowd was more positive than it has been for some time.

I came straight home after the match and as my hip was painful again I just spent the evening on the sofa watching TV.  I had recorded the rugby so I watched that.  Shame England got beat.

I sent a photo of Lily to the " Your Pet " website and she won " Pet of the Week".  No prize involved  but its good to see the photo being featured. I have put it as an extra shot. 

On my way to the football this afternoon I made a detour to find  The Vampire Rabbit of Newcastle.  I had heard of it and seen photos on blip but I had never seen it for myself.  Its to be found near the churchyard of St Nicholas Cathedral. 

The rabbit is a bizarre decoration which can be found at the top of an ornate doorway. My extra shot shows the full doorway - its lovely.  The building dates from 1901. Very little is known about why the rabbit is there or what it represents. Some say its meant to represent the coming of Spring.  Another theory is that the rabbit is actually a hare and the architect of the building was honouring ( or mocking ) Sir George Hare Philipson a physician at The Newcastle Royal Infirmary. The rabbit was originally a sandy colour but in recent times has been painted black with droplets of blood staining its teeth and claws - hence the nickname Vampire Rabbit.

Steps today - 7.646

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.