Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Hurrah for Greenhead!

I've been out all day checking a route for Wednesday's walk. It's been a glorious summer's day. The birds sang and flew around. A buzzard was mewing overhead for a while, then I saw starlings, lapwings, meadow pipits (I think) and more. The fields were green and the skies were blue.

Insects buzzed around the last flowers of the season - lots of sneezewort. There were herds of cows and calves and herds of inquisitive teenage bullocks. A hare suddenly took off as I walked near. The thistle seedheads made some fields looks as if it had snowed.

I met only one couple walking. Helen Brown, who knows our Harry well, and her husband, who has met him once. Helen's connection is wild flowers, but we really think that Harry knows everyone in the area.

Any negatives today? Well, Cumbrian signposting and stiles leave a lot of be desired. (That's me being diplomatic.) I spent ages trying to find a footbridge which was concealed by thistles and bracken and I cut my hand on barbed wire on a stile. I was very late returning home.

The best moment of the day was seeing that the community in Greenhead is welcoming cyclists and walkers. Good for them.

PS Just added an extra I liked from the quarry pond near West Hall.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.