Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A few weeks ago I posted a photo of Julie Livsey a local artist who is constructing an art installation in the Quaker Meeting House at Coanwood as part of the Walking Festival.

Today I went to see the work in progress. Julie is using natural materials - dandelion seedheads, thistledown, fine wool and more, to patiently produce words from Quaker tenets on the walls. It is hard to explain, but I've chosen to show you how she does this. The work is so delicate that butterflies flapping in the room can dislodge seedheads or down from the walls.

I've put an extra in to help you see the sort of effect, although some words are almost invisible because of the delicacy of the seeds.

Otherwise life is ridiculously busy. We had our last committee before the festival and I have more to do than I have time to do it in. It will no doubt all get done.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.