Onwards and upwards....

By Yana1

MM87 - "Past"

I'm back to my nocturnal Blips this morning (it's just past midnight here) as I am spending the whole day in Aberdeen and probably won't be back until late....so a very early upload....but still taken and uploaded on the same day!
The theme for the Mono Monday challenge is "Past" and all of these rings have a past....not only with me but with three people no longer here...
The ring on the far left was given to me by my ex-Mother-in-Law and it belonged to her great-grandmother...it was originally part of a necklace but when her great-grandmother passed the necklace was divided up and a single sone given to each daughter and made into a ring...I had the two pearls either side of the aquamarine stone added a few years after it was given to me....
The ring in the middle belonged to my Mom who passed last year....I have no idea where it came from but she wore it every day  and I treasure it amongst a number of special pieces of jewellery that I have of hers...
The ring on the far right belonged to my husband's Mother....it had been in a box of her bits and pieces of jewellery for years and I originally thought it was her engagement ring but he thinks not.....I do wear it occasionally.....
I love collecting second hand jewellery and often think of the "past" the jewellery might have had....it's nice to know a bit about these pieces and my little bit of he past is added to them for someone else to perhaps enjoy in the future...
This idea is a nod to an idea that Honeycombebeach posted on Facebook recently...so many thanks to her for giving me an inspiration!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.