And So It Begins: Reflections of Autumn

It was a cool and overcast morning, perfect for hiking. So my husband and I walked up to our local gameland, the Scotia Pine Barrens, where I was surprised to see that in just the past week, the autumn colors have begun. To get this photo, I stood directly atop a beaver lodge (I have no idea if it is actively used by beavers or not) along the bank of the pond.

To be accurate, the color is just a bit here and there: a tinge of yellow in the trees, a hint of gold among the ferns, the occasional stand-out of a tree dressed in orange or red. I'd say that overall, it is still about 98% green in most spots.

Autumn just may be my favorite season of the year. We don't enjoy losing daylight, of course (which is also part of what happens this time of year). But my husband and I love to go and chase the fall colors, and every year, we try to get outdoors as much as possible to watch the show. Late September through October - these are some of our favorite times of the year.

I have spent 50 years on this planet, every single one of them in beautiful, rural central Pennsylvania. You might think I would grow tired of the color show, but I do not. Every year, it is like I am seeing it for the very first time. And so the tune to accompany this image is about that. Do I get tired of enjoying the foliage show? My answer is this: never, my love . . .  And so the song to accompany this image is the Association, with Never My Love.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.