Dancing in the Moonlight

Have you heard the news? There is to be a supermoon eclipse on Sunday night! It's very exciting, as this has not happened since 1982, and it won't happen again until 2033.

In the area where I live (central Pennsylvania), the best part of the show should be from about 9:07 pm to 12:27 am, with full eclipse occurring from 10:11 pm to 11:23 pm. Now, some of this is just a bit past my bedtime, but I am willing to stay up for the show, if the weather permits us to see it.

However, rain and clouds are predicted for my area. So I am anticipating the possibility that I may be greatly disappointed. Somehow, my camera and I have never been permitted (for one reason or another, usually weather) to photograph an eclipse.

Fortunately, NASA TV will be streaming the event live, so if you and I miss it due to bad weather, we can go here to watch. Here is some information about the timing:

"Sunday’s supermoon eclipse will last 1 hour and 11 minutes, and will be visible to North and South America, Europe, Africa, and parts of West Asia and the eastern Pacific. Weather permitting, you can see the supermoon after nightfall, and the eclipse will cast it into shadow beginning at 8:11 p.m. EDT. The total eclipse starts at 10:11 p.m. EDT, peaking at 10:47 p.m. EDT."

With such an amazing celestial event in the offing, my husband and I got the great idea that we should check out the moon's position in the night sky on this evening so that we would know where to watch for the eclipse.

And so nightfall found me on the front porch, watching what turned out to be an absolutely marvelous moon show. It's enough to set one's feet a-dancing! Just in case I don't get to photograph the eclipse, please enjoy this look at the beautiful moon.

The song to accompany this image is Thin Lizzy, with Dancing in the Moonlight. And so . . . may I have this dance?   ;-)

P.S. Since this is Caturday, there's a photo of Dexter the Tabby enjoying a lovely new BOX in the extra photos area. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.