Starring the Dancing Girls in: Gourd Fest!

I have been waxing poetic here of late about the beautiful things of summer that are leaving us. The butterflies, the hummingbirds.

But there is one more group I have not mentioned, and that is the Dancing Girls. Their time is drawing to a close as well, and I will miss them when they are gone.

But on this day, there was no room for whining or sadness or teary eyes, for it was gourd fest time! I had discovered a white gourd of some kind at work in that area where people put free stuff to give away. And so I took it. I knew immediately what it would be used for: yes, this!

Now, I want to warn you not to attempt this stunt at home, as it is very dangerous and risky. You see the Crittergators standing beneath the gourd as spotters. Safety First is our motto!

The jeweled stag is balanced atop the white gourd with a Dancing Girl tucked carefully between his feet. Another Dancing Girl sits astride his back, and one tiny one is even perched between his golden antlers!

I do not know how many more blips will get to feature the Dancing Girls, as their season is growing short. I took many of the last few blooms off the fuchsia plant for this photo shoot.

But let's honor them with one more dancing song, shall we, just in case we may not meet up again anytime soon. . . .

And so the soundtrack is the Dubliners, with Lord of the Dance.

P.S. I had to post two blips today to catch up after our weekend backpacking trip, so please check out the other one as well!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.