Blue Sky Back Door Buzzard

An interesting day. I was up at 2:00 am to watch the eclipse. "Some moment when the moon was blood ...." I got some reasonable moon shots handheld before totality but should have got the tripod out for the blood bit. I have a beautifully rusty orange, fuzzy felt-like image to remind me of witnessing the amazing phenomenon.

I got more shots of our robin (with its blood moon coloured breast) in the ivy bush singing its quiet, closed beak song inches from my macro lens. I was told by a couple of recorders that I met at Amwell recently that it is known as a sub song. Nice to have a term to Google. I hadn't been able to find anything about it online. I've read that it is also known as a whisper song.

Jazz enjoyed our walk, she chased a fox in the disused car park. It was in beautiful condition and ran past me at close quarters. It's fur shining in the sunlight reminded me of last night's moon.

I was delighted to hear and shoot a goldcrest in the dogwood hedge by the bottom boiler house. That was to be my Blip.

I had a little break from faffing about with my freezer this afternoon and as I walked out of the back door snapped this buzzard. I see them quite often but they are usually too high to get a decent shot. I've read that they are known as tourists' eagles. John Clare described the buzzard as ‘of an idle disposition and not unlike the kite while perched but quite different when on the wing – it flyes in a flopping manner, something like the owl.’

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.