An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Ugly Face...

After reading till almost 3am, it was a struggle to get up this morning.   Cameron was here doing an overnight and texted me at 10am to say Alan was still asleep so no need to rush, which was just as well as I’d only been awake for five minutes!
 
When I got downstairs Alan was in the giggliest mood I’ve seen him in for ages.  He just found everything hilarious and could not stop laughing.   Hysterical laughter is definitely catching and Cameron and I were soon as helpless as Alan, tears streaming down our faces trying to catch our breaths, but without the faintest idea of what we were laughing about!
 
The power to bring joy and make people laugh so heartily that negative thoughts and feelings are banished, is one of Alan’s gifts.    Sadly some people have never had the privilege of having someone as amazing as Alan touch their lives, and they remain closed to the wonder and beauty those different to themselves, bring to the world.   This was brought home to me yesterday when Alan and Gill returned from their day out and Gill told me what had happened.
 
Having spent a lovely afternoon out in the sunshine, they stopped at a café for coffee (for Gill) and chocolate for Alan.    Gill had just settled herself and Alan at a table that was accessible to Alan’s wheelchair and was perusing the menu, when an older man and woman, presumably husband and wife, entered the café. 
 
 Gill glanced up and couldn’t help but notice the woman had a rather large mole on her cheek.  The man headed towards the table next to Alan and Gill, and as they got nearer, Gill automatically looked up to smile at them.
 
And she looked up just in time to see the woman glance at Alan with a look of repulsion on her face, grab her husband’s arm, pull him back and say “No, not beside him!” as she headed to a table further away.
 
Quick as a flash Gill, in a big loud voice, announced, “Oh thank goodness!  I was just saying to Alan, I hope that woman with the big ugly wart on her face doesn’t come and sit next to us!” 
 
Gill you are a star for handling the situation so beautifully and to the cafe owner who gave Gill her coffee on the house, you restore my faith.
 
To the lady in question, I pity you and all the love and joy you have missed out on.  Your life experience is definitely the poorer for it.
 
In other news, David has literally just arrived back from Portugal so better go and see what he brought me hear all about it.    And Linsey the physio is coming to pommel my back at 7pm.   I shall try and muffle my screams :-)
 
   
PS Today’s Tiny Tuesday shot is of the wood grain on my oak kitchen table, faffed with a little in PSE, which spookily brought out this ugly face.  How apt considering….  ;-)  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.