Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Dawn at Bushy Park

I woke up at 5.30am and could not get back to sleep so decided to head up to Bushy Park to see the sunrise. I got there at 6.30am before the sun rose and as I stepped out my car I could not believe the loud roars and bellowing coming from the stags - it is rutting season and this morning they were very unsettled and very noisy, I almost felt like I was in Africa hearing a lion roar as they were so loud!

I tried to walk around the pond to get in position for the sunrise but the stags were behaving a bit aggressively and I got nervous. Luckily another photographer came up to me and we walked together, safety in numbers! He said he had never seen the stags behave like this before.

I took so many photos of the sunrise and of the stags, I did not know which one to blip so if you are interested you can see some of them here. At one point a particularly aggressive stag started to come after me and luckily I was close to the car park where another photographer also was making a hasty retreat backwards and she shouted to me 'jump in my car'. Luckily he stopped and went back to the females, who were not in the least bit interested in him - he was getting very frustrated! (Does this sound familiar, male blippers?)

After that early start I am having a bit of a late evening as I am going to see Nicole Kidman in the West End play 'Photograph 51'. It is about the scientist Rosalind Franklin who identified the structure of DNA. I invited Adam to come with me, as he knows all about her work but he has blown me off for a night out with a certain blonde, beautiful vet science student!! Luke is coming with me instead and I am looking forward to my evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.