Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

The workout

I had another go at another environmental portrait. This time Adam was actually working out and was not prepared to pose for me - 'these weights are heavy, mum, I can't stand here posing!' Again I used off camera flash and wanted to incorporate a bit of the background so as to show the environment. It's also an appropriate image as tomorrow he writes his final exam to qualify as a level 3 personal trainer - the plan is to hopefully get some work as a personal trainer during his university holidays, something he will enjoy as he is very interested in the subject. In fact he did a research project when at school on the effect of diet and training on muscles and how the muscles change. (Please note that we have some weights at home, I did not stalk him at the gym!!)

The play I saw last night 'Photograph 51' was very good, largely due to brilliant acting by Nicole Kidman and the rest of the cast. Personally I thought her English accent was flawless, although one newspaper critic said he detected her Australian twang coming through periodically. We never noticed that at all, she gave an excellent performance.

For the past few weeks I have been shopping for stuff that the boys require for university. I have one large ever-growing pile in the corner of a room - I am now about to separate the pile into two respective piles for Adam and Luke and then to actually start packing it. I am starting to feel very sad that they are leaving home, and I know it is only for 8 weeks (Adam) and 10 weeks (Luke) until they are home again but it is the end of an era and the start of a new lifestyle for all of us. Best I crack on with that packing....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.