Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A carpet of leaves

Another lovely dog walk through the woods, although there was a bit of rain with low clouds. At this time of year I love the carpet of leaves and how they contrast with the green trees, as most trees are still green and not bare as they are in mid winter.

Tonight I am going to a talk by a music lecturer from Oxford on the compositional creativity of musicians in the period leading up to the First World War, and how music related to the political and social context in this era. All part of the ongoing focus in the UK on the centenary of the First World War. It should be interesting, I think.

And I am very tired today as last night I could not put my book down, it was so gripping, and by the time I turned my light off it was very late. I can recommend it...The Missing One by Lucy Atkins. A bit of a naff title for a thrilling book that has a bit of everything in it - psychological tension, mystery, evocative descriptions of the stormy coast of British Columbia and fascinating details about researchers tracking killer whales.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.