Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

September Selfie

It is the last day of September today, and what a beautiful month it has been in England. I don't think I can recall such a warm and settled September as we have just experienced - on Sunday it was so warm that Thomas was swimming in an outside pool (at a friend's party), I would not have imagined that.

I think I read somewhere that September is selfie month - or maybe I just imagined it but I am only posting a selfie out of desperation, as I could not think what else to post today. Taking a selfie is an excellent exercise in learning to focus, it is a very difficult task especially if the aperture is quite wide. I started off with f/2.8 but could not get the focus right, so had to increase it.

I rather like this quote by Richard Avedon, one of my favourite portrait photographers...“A portrait is not a likeness. The moment an emotion or fact is transformed into a photograph it is no longer a fact but an opinion. There is no such thing as inaccuracy in a photograph. All photographs are accurate. None of them is the truth. ” The emotion here would be embarrassment and feeling like a twit....

Can't wait to see the last episode of Cilla tonight (I recorded it), I have really enjoyed the series. I think she has a brilliant voice too, and I rather prefer her version of the songs to the originals by Cilla Black!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.