Workride #5 The Malt Shovel

I consulted several photo forums and took advice from blippers and FBers about my night blipping and there seemed to be a lot of contradiction/preferred methods.  The only thing they all agreed on is to use a flash.  So this morning I tried one suggestion about settings and also used the in camera flash.  The latter was inadequate for the job, only throwing its light a couple of metres and I wasn't about to take the handheld one (thank you for that Lisa!) on my bike with all my other stuff.

So no mist in the village this morning but I did turn in to it on Bents Lane further on.  I stopped here at the bottom of Wilsden Road where it crosses the Beck, to blip the pub I pass on my route before heading up past Sandy Banks and the garden centre.  The Malt (formerly known as The Malt Shovel) is reputed to have been built around 1550.  In its time before it turned into a pub and restaurant it has been a prison and a court room.  Just before the bridge you can turn into Goit Stock, now a caravan park, which once housed a mill where tea dances were regularly held.  There is a great photo of Victorian ladies and gents sitting in charabancs having just arrived to walk along the valley for their tea and dancing.

Wilsden Road (lit by the starry lamposts) is one of the main arteries in to our village and is lined with cherry trees which are very pretty in the springtime.

I have been asked why I have elected to do this workride project at this end of the year and it is because I am retiring at Christmas, and only just thought of it!  It will not be long before this particular ride is a thing of the past!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.