creative lenna

By creativelenna

humpback whales

Or should I say, Open Wide!! I should add in case it's not apparent, that the main image is of a humpback whale with it's mouth wide open as it is coming up out of the water catching fish. Half of it's mouth is sticking straight up and the other half is under the water (mostly). You can see it a bit on the left!

My friend Theresa mentioned that there had been a lot of whale activity around Provincetown and had I thought of a whale watching trip? I had not, but I decided to look into it. The Dolphin Whale Fleet was recommended and I found out the trips were guided by experienced naturalists. There is a Natural Marine Sanctuary not far from P-Town where the whales feed and that is why we were so lucky to see so many humpbacks, finbacks & minke whales. I was amazed! I had been whale watching with my boys once before some time ago, but we had a very small showing of whales. This was the opposite. I'd guess I saw 50 sightings of whales, at least! A very humbling experience. 

The humpbacks were my favorite. Can you imagine being 40-50 ft long and approx 79,000 lbs? I've added another detailed photo of one with it's mouth open very close to the boat taken with my Panasonic Lumix zoom. And, I added a favorite shot of one of them kicking over it's tail. My my my! That was a good idea and a great experience. The weather was good too. Today it is not! I've been tucked inside as it has been rain-rain-raining. The Ferry service just called me and said it is most likely they will put me on a motor coach to Boston as the morning Ferry trip to Boston encountered worse weather than they expected, and the ferry was slow in coming back. (Yes, this is confirmed!) Fine with me! I would much rather go by motor coach than by Ferry when the seas are rough. It will just take a little longer. 

Kristyn made a delicious, my goodness amazing dinner last night at her restaurant, Tiny's -It was closed except for the party for her friends, see "extra photos".  I have had a really great time with them!! Now onward to an evening with my son & his wife in Boston before flying home....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.