Duck Drama

Driving home I was flagged down by a cyclist warning me there was a duck and ducklings on the road. I grabbed the camera and joined her to help marshal the duck family back across the road to the safety of the paddock.

The cyclist did traffic control while I tried to guide Mum and 8 little ones in the right direction. Each time I got them on their way, Mum Duck would veer back to the road verge, loudly quacking with all the babies trotting along behind.

In a lull in the traffic, Cyclist came back to help and spotted 2 little ducklings that had fallen through the grating into a storm water drain. No wonder Mum was distressed and kept returning to this area. We heaved with all our might, but couldn't shift the grate so Cyclist went off to ring the local Council for assistance while I continued, keeping them clear of the road before more babies were lost. Mum Duck seemed to give up at that point and took her remaining family into the paddock.

I nearly forgot to take a photo - but got this last little duckling as he left the road

I had to leave but Cyclist offered to stay until help arrived. But I fear for the lives of those two little ducklings in the drain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.