Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Fussball

[for BCAM2015]

Saw this on the Business Floor of a new hotel G & I visited this afternoon. How incredible and perfect for a pink blip, but being mega stressed to get to the place as the access is almost impossible (Dubai's road system and signs), we didn't actually have a game.

It's been a very up and down day; first church, then a quick lunch, then this meeting followed by a brief time at home where I fell asleep before heading out to do a visa run. Gs first after the summer and everything seemed to be going well till we hit the first check point where there was a bit of a queue and a very irate officer for our line. That was probably the warning.

Anyway, we got to the last checkpoint to get the UAE exit stamp for G when the man informed me he would have to stamp me out as well. I enquired further and he said "new rule since the summer". Which means I too have to pay the small fee at the Omani border which doubles the cost of the visa run. He then said, "and there is a fine for overstaying." "What? How can that be?" Got my 40 day calculation wrong!! Should have done it last Friday. Argh. So, after a £100 fine, additional fee at Oman, some moaning and heated discussion, stopping for cheap(er) Omani fuel and sitting in a 20 minute queue on the last check point back, we made it home safely, noting we have to leave earlier in the afternoon to avoid the homeward bound queues and ensure we mark some dates on the calendar. Next one should be 6th November.

This place does wear you down, though I have to commend the attitude of the staff on the main Emirati border post for their politeness and efficiency.

Can I ask you to click on this link to help give a free mammogram. Thank you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.