Indian Summer

I felt myself definitely coming down with something today so I stayed at home and got on with a bit of work that I've been putting off all week. I spent most of the day trying to get my head around a load of code I wrote just a few weeks ago, before finally working out how to go about making the necessary changes. It took me ages to complete the task. I somehow knew that if I didn't finish right away I'd struggle to pick it up again. That would probably have been proven correct. As I worked into the small hours I felt progressively worse. Writing this up the following day I have been laid low by a real stinker of a cold. I haven't been able to get anything done today.

It was another absolutely stunning day. In the afternoon sun it was as warm as it's been all summer up here in the north, bar that one freak day where the temperatures hit the thirties. Yet again, a foggy morning gave way to hazy sunshine with barely a breath of wind around. Despite not feeling great I went up on the moor early evening to try to help clear my head. If I'm honest, I probably felt worse for getting out but it was still worth it. 

This kind of Indian Summer seems to occurring more regularly. My journal tells me it was much the same last year and also in 2011. There seems to be a pattern when the most settled spells of weather are coming at the beginning of April and the end of September. Both are actually great times of year to enjoy good weather, better than the summer really. Just wish I'd been able to get out more to make the most of it all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.