Woolly medals

We have been orienteering on Eston Moor today.  I had planned on taking my small camera out with me as the view of Industrial Middlesborough is quite something from the top of the bank, but the haze hung around once again and we didn't get any kind of view till we were walking down from the finish.

It has been a day for nostalgia because it finally dawned on me that the NHS site we were parked in was actually the former Teesside College of Education and I used to go there once a week for my Old English lectures when I was studying at Middleton St George Teacher Training College back in the seventies.  We were also close to Saltburn which is where Tony and I went for our first date!  

We decided to try ride out the mist by getting a view from another of our early days out together, which was to Roseberry Topping.  As we left the carpark the sun and blue sky came out, but five minutes later it was back to the haze!!  Sadly this is the only view from the top.  We cut our losses and decided to stop in Great Ayton for a cuppa which is where we spotted this unusual War Memorial on the village green which commemorates 100 years since the beginning of the First World War, very fitting I thought for a rural setting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.