Mail to Messy

By Horomaka

Milky Way Over Clarke Flat, Peel Forest

To say it's been a blustery one here today is somewhat of an understatement The roaring Nor'West pushed the mercury close to 25C in the early afternoon, but despite the warmth it was a day to be inside. In my case, this meant trying to get the office a little straighter; now the desks are moved, me and Mrs H should be able to work back to back in the office with plenty of room around us.

With the wind blowing, I waited until dark to get today's blip, the DOC picnic shelter down at Clarke Flat. It was still blustery as I took the shot, but nothing my Manfrotto couldn't manage.

I think there's a little bit of auroral activity around tonight, so the yellow pink hue on the southern horizon could well the the colour glow from the southern lights. I'll have to see what the aurora seekers are up to and whether this is the case.

I think it's time for bed - an early start this morning to see England crash out of the Rugby World Cup, followed by a late-ish night star gazing means I'm a tired wee chap.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.