An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

In Search of Coffee and Cake...

Had a lovely evening with Agnes and Adrian last night.  We were in bed by 1.30am so not too bad.   

Poor Alan has caught my cold and didn't want any breakfast or lunch but wanted to drink plenty so that was something.  Agnes, Adrian, David and I headed across to the golf club for lunch.  

Since our healthy eating began a month ago we've been very good (weighed myself yesterday morning and I've lost 9lbs, which I was really chuffed about considering I'm not on a weigh loss diet) we decided would could relax a little and have little treat so I had a toasted panini with bacon and brie.  

We decided to go for a run in search of a good coffee shop with homebaking and found ourselves driving over the Sma' Glen to Dunkeld (the hometown of Flora in this year's Great British Bake-off) and were drawn to Palmerstons Coffee shop.

Agnes and Adrian were tempted by the HUGE slices of Victoria sponge but David and I couldn't see past the banana and honey scones with rhubarb and orange jam and clotted cream (well if you're going to be naughty you may as well be REALLY naughty! :-)

Afterwards we had a leisurely stroll round the Atholl Gallery and spent lots of money....in our minds.  Oh my, what lovely stuff in there!

Home and then Agnes and Adrian headed off with doggy bags of left overs from last night (I am the Queen of over-catering!)  Nothing much planned for this evening except dinner (although I'm not hungry yet so it might end up being toast and tea at 9pm!) 

All in all a lovely day where the four of us reflected on the teenagers we used to be  and the middle-aged fogies we are now, going for drives in the countryside on Sunday afternoons, looking for coffee and cake.   

Bloody marvellous!  :-)))

Blip wouldn't upload this photo so been forced to reduce the file size.  Quality is now rubbish.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.