Hair Today, Gone Tomorrow!

With the chemotherapy drugs that I'm having, it's only a matter of time before I start losing my hair, so I made the decision to have it cut short before that happens.  I also wanted to do it while I'm able to donate my hair to the Little Princess Trust who make wigs for children.  So this morning, Alan took me round to my Gogglebox TV star and friend Chris', as he offered to cut my hair and style my wig.

I asked Alan to take photos throughout the process, and some of these will be used in my book when it's finished, but I also wanted to make a collage of the before, during and after shots which are also perfect for Pink October.  So today, my Blip is thanks to Alan, although I made the collage.

Chris started by carefully styling the wig, then cut my hair in sections so that we could make a 'pony tail' to donate, and then continued to cut the rest of my hair.  Once it was done, he fitted the wig and finished styling it.  It was an amazing transformation and I was surprised to find that I actually like the 'Pixie Cut' - who knows, once my hair starts to grow back, I may go for a short funky style!

Once it was finished, we drove to Eastbourne to meet Alan's parents for lunch at The Belgian Cafe, and I'd purposefully not told them what we were doing this morning as I wanted to see if they noticed, and they didn't!  I finally told them while we were having lunch, and they were amazed - Norma said that she thought it looked slightly lighter, but thought I'd had it highlighted.  

After not having a drink for the last 10 days, I thought it was the perfect opportunity to celebrate with a bottle of fizz - after all, Alan has a new wife tonight!

I'd like to say a big thank you again to those of you who contributed to Alison's 'Just Giving' page that made this happen xx

My collage is a before, during, and after, plus one of Chris with me in my wig.  I've also put a selection of the photos in my extras if you're interested in having a look.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.