Directors Meeting

A mono on a Monday? Oh go on then... Working in Cambridge is great (well apart from the getting in and out of Cambridge bit) as I can walk to see clients. I cheated a bit today and got a lift to my meeting but walked back and thought it only fair to stop off at the 'Sailsbury Arms' for a pint. As it is practically next to our Office I forced my business partner Al to meet me. We are only usually in the office together once a week so we try to get across to the pub, it is where most decisions are made.

The Sailsbury is a proper local pub, I first used it nearly 30 years ago and when we moved the office across the road it was amazing to see it had not changed. Then it all went wrong, the barman did bad things, the punters stopped going (except us, they can't get rid of us). The brewery stepped in and revamped it, well they painted it beige. The punters stayed away (again except us).
Then earlier this year they closed it again and gutted it. They have completely remodeled it making it a bit rustic, a bit steampunk, a bit retro, there are old board games on the bar and an eclectic selection of music is always on. They have built a huge wood fired pizza oven and serve pizzas and pots of stew and stuff. With a new Landlord (Sam) and oven team, it is brilliant. I'm glad to see the punters are back, we of course never left.

So if you are in Cambridge and need beer and food you really should pop in and see Sam and his team. 


Good place for a business meeting as well ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.