Rangy Reynard

My dog and I went out even though it was raining. At first we amused ourselves looking for bugs on weeds in the large disused aluminium block of glasshouses. We then went down the field, nothing much to photograph and I was feeling a bit despondent.

As I passed glasshouse thirteen I peered in through a missing pane of glass as I always do. I caught a glimpse of ginger through the nettles so climbed up to get a better view. A beautiful young fox was staring back at me with wonderful, clear, amber eyes. It was in the same place that the one-eyed old fox used to sleep. 

Instead of turning and running it walked towards me inquisitively. I think it might be the one that Jazzy chased in the car park the other day. It's in lovely condition. It looks like a teenaged fox to me, quite thin with a delicately pointed face and legs that look too long. Once it had checked me out it loped off into the next glasshouse. Jazzy was oblivious.

I read the suggestion on Twitter from the Lee Valley Park to spend time in one of their hides while it was raining so went to Fishers Green. I had the Bittern Hide to myself. I saw a great spotted woodpecker, and watched a muntjac deer in one of channels where the reeds have been freshly cut. I heard a Cetti's warbler and got a blurry pic. 

The high spot was the kingfisher. It flashed through twice and perched for a few moments. I got pics both times. :)    
   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.