Garrulous Greylags

I visited Amwell nature reserve this afternoon because I had heard that the dragonfly trail that usually closes at the end of September was still open as a rare damselfly has been seen there.

Too late. :( The gates were padlocked. I got a nice shot of one of the lovely Soay sheep that have been brought in though. They're running with a Jacob ram. Wish I could have got a shot of him.

I spent some time in the James hide hoping that a kingfisher would appear but no luck.

The light was lovely at the viewing point and I just waited for the chance to grab BIFs. I got mallards, widgeon, Canada geese and a heron being harried by a gull. I've decided to post this greylag goose. It is one of a trio that joined a flock resting in the sunshine with their heads tucked under their wings. What a fuss they made when the newcomers arrived. The gossipy gobbling really made me laugh.

I got a Mustang plane too. I smiled when I heard a man telling his wife it was a Spitfire.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.