Journey Through Time

By Sue

Celebrating 90 Years!

This Wednesday is my second dad's 90th birthday.  Born in New York, NY, he lived in quite a few places in that area, including Queens and other boroughs.  His dad was a "superintendent" of buildings, and so they often moved with his different jobs.  Howard loved being out of the city and after WWII, something he just really isn't interested much in talking about, he went to school in Montana and got his degree in Forestry. He was unmarried and with no family, he was open to adventure and he took a position with the Weather Bureau which sent him to the Arctic and to  Antarctica.  He was in the first group of men to 'winter over' in 1955 at McMurdo Station.  I've featured Howard before, but if you want to read about him you can do that here. He was interviewed some years ago.

I'm proud of both of my dads, my birth father and my stepdad.  

Pictured is Bill, Howard, David, my stepmom Sondra and my aunt, Joan.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.