Lobster and literature

I was at my desk most of the day righting/writing wrongs. Then, after a quick visit to my sick friend (getting better, slowly), I returned home to welcome my book group pals to my flat for the evening.

This month we have been reading Cutting for stone. This is the first time that I have not managed to finish the book in time for the meeting, but I had read enough to be able to share my opinions of it tonight. I like it, and will definitely finish it. Everyone else has enjoyed this book too apart from Arclight, who wouldn't normally choose to read detailed descriptions of surgical procedures in her leisure time.

My hazelh cooked supper for us: carrot and sweet potato soup, lobster thermidor, and chocolate torte - yum!

Our next book is The Leipzig affair by Fiona Rintoul. If you'd like to read along with us, we'll be discussing it on Monday 2nd November.

(In other news one of my students has been writing about her experience of a year of living in Scotland while studying for a research degree. I blogged about her 'magical year' this morning.)

Exercise today: none.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.