Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Starry Spire

I haven't done any night photography for a while so just before midnight I went out to put that right.

The blip photo was taken at 12.59am of Llandaff Cathedral Spire with stars overhead, from Llandaff Rugby Club pitch. 

The Normans began construction of the cathedral in 1120 and had the remains of Saint Dyfrig transferred from Bardsey; the work was not completed until 1290. The Lady Chapel was built between 1266 to 1287. Damage was done to the church in 1400 during the rebellion Owain Glyndawr. 

On the eveing of 2 January 1941 during World War 2 , the Cathedral was severely damaged when a parachute mine was dropped near it during the Cardiff Blitz, blowing the roof off the nave, south aisle and chapter house. The top of the spire also had to be reconstructed. Only Coventry Cathedral was damaged more!

I was in bed by 2am. Asleep by 2.05am. Postman banging on the front door at 8.20am with a parcel from Wex. My long exposure timer to use with my Lee filters. I then made the wife's sarnies and salad for her 10-8pm shift.  I'll won't be out tonight!

For those who like details, Camera was a Sony A7s with Sony 28mm F2 at F2, ISO 1600, 3.2 sec exposure, EV -0.3

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.