Traumatised...............................

.....................Ann not me?!

This morning I was on the way home from my walk when another, much younger, collie came out of a side street.  I was on my lead and sometimes I like to assert my authority so I gave the other collie the ‘evils’.  Ann could tell I was about to go crazy and the owner of the other collie obviously thought her collie was also going to go crazy because she got hold of her (the other collie wasn’t on her lead) and stood back to let us past.

Well, the other collie broke free and tried to attack me but fortunately her owner managed to pull her off me and she got told off.  I got told off as well.  Ann said I’d started it because I’d been giving her the evils.

Then we popped into the newsagents and walked the short distance home.  When we got home Ann went upstairs and when she came back down again do you know what she saw?..............................

..................She saw bright red blood all over our white painted floorboards, bright red blood all over my neck and my paws and my legs.  And I was just lying in the middle of all the bright red blood licking my paws.

Ann burst into tears and said, ‘OMG, Molly, what’s happened?’

Then she said, ‘This will make a good photo for Blip.’ ‘Where’s all this blood coming from?’  Ann knew she had to stay calm so that she could help me.  No collie wants a neurotic owner?!  So she proceeded to clean all the blood off me but she still couldn’t work out where it was coming from and every time I shook my head loads of blood was spattering everywhere.

Eventually she worked out that all the blood was coming from the weeniest, teeniest, little cut in my left ear.  The other collie must have bitten me.  And then she started worrying that I was losing too much blood ‘cos she’d gone back into neurotic collie dog owner mode.

............And Ann had to go to work so she wasn’t quite sure what to do with me.

Coming out of neurotic collie dog owner mode.  Thinking about the situation logically she decided she had four options:

1) Rush me off to the vets immediately.

2) Leave me home alone so that I could lie on the sofa and drip blood all over the place.

3) Take the day off work and stay home to look after me.

4) Take me to work so that she could keep an eye on me and ask the advice of her colleagues.

The most practical solution was ‘take me to work’ so that is what happened.  And by the time I got to work and Ann wanted to show everyone my cut ear.............  it almost took a magnifying glass to find it.  How so much blood could come out of such a little cut I don’t know.  According to Ann’s very lovely boss Steve, there are lots of blood vessels in dogs ears???  Since when did he become an expert in the anatomy of dogs?

And this is a photo of me walking the long route home because much as Ann would have liked to have shown you a blip of me covered in blood it wasn’t actually her first thought when she was confronted by what looked like a murder scene.

Soooooo...................  I’m all happy & bouncy again.................... BUT................ I haven’t eaten my dinner because I’m not hungry and I know Ann is going to be feeling sorry for me.

I bet I’ll get a little bit of cheese grated on top of it tonight.  YUM! YUM!

PS – I’ve met the other collie before and when I’m off my lead I just ignore her ‘cos she’s too young & bouncy for me.  Being bitten wasn’t really the other collies fault.  Ann says sometimes dogs just do ‘dog things’???

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.