Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Zippy's Wiffy

Or maybe it is Zipey's Wifey.  Could be just Zip's Sis.

Well, you get the idea.  It's a female Costa's hummingbird.

It is so difficult to tell these female hummingbirds apart from one another.  They all seem to have that iridescent green back. Most also have black wings and a white spot behind the eye.  There are such subtle differences which, after two years, I am only learning now.

Questions to ask yourself include, for instance, check around the eye. Is there a white spot? How large?...or is it more of a line?

Look at the throat.  Is there a white ring or colored ring around the neck?  Is there a speckled or solid colored patch on its throat? Or is the throat the same as the breast color?

Is there white on the edges of the wing feathers and what is the coloring of the tail and its tip?

What about the bill?  Simple. Is it long, short or curved?

I picked this Costa's out by her cheek feather grey color, as well as, her short bill.  It was an easy combination for me. Today. Two weeks ago, I would have missed it!  You never stop learning.

PS  Would you believe I got this hand-held?  I am proud of myself  :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.