Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Migrant... #3

Continuing in my recent "Migrants" theme, today's migrant is one of several sparrow species that winters in our area, after returning from northern breeding grounds.  I love these sparrows - partly for their beautiful colors (look at the white bib and snappy yellow eyebrows!) but also for their sweet song.  I think that their song is probably my favorite of all the birds.  If you'd like to have a listen, there is a good recording HERE on YouTube - you can skip the commercial after 3 seconds.  The sparrow, by the way, is aptly named White-throated Sparrow.

It was unseasonably warm again today with lots of flyers in the garden.  At one point, there were FIVE monarchs feeding on the buddleia!  Quite a sight and I was tempted to blip one again today...but I had to go with the sparrow.  This will mark the first one I've seen in the garden this fall.

Two other photos on Flickr, if you want to have a look:
Head shot of a fuzzy bumble bee
Two Monarchs

Kura and Peg are due to arrive any time now.  We've decided to order pizza in tonight - making an easy night in terms of cooking.  Which leaves more time for ...wine!  

Happy Friday, people!

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.